Electrical Engineering Department

The aim of establishing the Department of Electrical Engineering was to meet the growing need for manpower in the profession. The main objective was to train and produce Engineers with the required qualities and capabilities to meet the increasing need for professional Engineers in the country. The Department of Electrical Engineering became an autonomous Department in the 1981/82 session.

Until the 1984/85 session the Department of Electrical Engineering offered a 3-year degree programme following a 2-year pre-degree programme in the Faculty of Science. From the 1984/85 session, the Department started admitting students for the 4-year programme after completing the pre-degree programme in the Faculty of Science or by direct admission through the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB). From the 1988/89 session, however, the Department, like all other Departments in the Faculty of Technology, runs a 5-year degree programme in Electrical Engineering.

In the year 2000, a committee was set up to look into the possibility of introducing a number of computer based programmes at the bachelor’s level at Bayero University, Kano. After exploring several options, the committee recommended among others, that Bachelor of Engineering (Computer Engineering) should be mounted by the department of electrical engineering, beginning of the 2001/2002 academic session. The decision of the committee was, in part, guided by the understanding that the department has minimum requirements to mount the selected programme.

Subsequently, the department of Electrical Engineering set up a committee to draw up syllabus for the new programme. After the programme was duly approved by the senate, the first set of students was admitted into the level 100 of the programme during the 2002/2003 academic session.

With increasing global dependence on Information Technology in all aspects of our lives and In cognizance of the fact that Electrical Engineering Department has the necessary specialist staff and laboratory equipments to meet the demand for mounting Communication Engineering programme, On August 22nd, 2012, the Senate of Bayero University approved the mounting of Bachelor degree in Communication Engineering by the department, starting from the 2012/2013 academic session.

Currently, the Department of Electrical Engineering is therefore running two 5-years Bachelor degree programmes: Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering and will beginning of the next academic session start running Bachelor of Communication Engineering degree. In both programmes, courses are grouped into levels each of which spans one academic session. Courses are common to the three programmes except in 400 and 500 levels. In addition, the department is running Postgraduate courses leading to the award of Postgraduate Diploma in Electrical Engineering, Master of Engineering degree in Electrical Engineering (with specialization in Communication Engineering, Control and Instrumentation Engineering, Electronics Engineering and Power and Machines Engineering) and Doctor of Philosophy degree in Electrical Engineering.